Time keeps on slipping… into the future

November 16, 2009

Has the progression of technology made it harder to seek God or has it made Him more available. As someone who works in the Church and we technology, it is easy for me to interweave the two. While technology is a distraction in many ways, I am very guiltty of escaping my surrounding with my iPod, I has also made it easier, I can be listening to worship music or a sermon on that iPod.

One of the things that I really struggle with is the availability of the Bible versues how much we actually read it. Just a couple centries ago, it was very bard to get a copy of the Bible. The teaching and the reading of the Word was reserved to just those priveledged enough to have access tithe scriptures. Christians longed for the Word and were faithful in attending church because it was the only place they could hear from God. Now the scripture is easily available, in everything for inexpensive print versions to phones and other technological gadgets. I have dozens of print Bibles and hundreds of Binle translations on my iPod and Kindle. With the Word of God so close, so accessible, it should be a no-brainer to be able to connect to God all day long. But that is too often not what happens. There are so many things I can do with the technology at my disposal that reading the word can sadly be shadowed by other, less important things.

How about you? Has technology become an instrument or a hurdle in your pursuit of a deeper relationship with God? Leave your opinion in the comments.

3 Responses to “Time keeps on slipping… into the future”

  1. Raymond Says:

    I think that people are always going to have a lack of interest in God’s word unless it’s ingrained in them. But I don’t think that technology is inherently bad. I don’t agree with much of its use in a church service, but even going from spoken word to paper and then to mass production were advances in technology, which were certainly helpful in the spreading of the Gospel. This may sound like an argument for the advocation of projectors, flashing lights, or a full band since those things may seem to be advances in technology, but I think at a certain point there’s a disconnect. You have to discern what is worshiping the way God wants and worshiping the way we want. And God doesn’t like being worshiped in a way he has not prescribed (i.e., the Golden Calf when the Israelites worshiped God via an idol).

    I also think a lot of the lack of reading to availability ratio comes with Enlightenment preaching as well as technological advances. Charles Finney had a lot to do with short, emotional worship “experiences” that replaced long, liturgical worship “services.” We just want short sound-bytes, not to sit and listen to the preached word. This is also true in how we read the Bible. We memorize scripture verses instead of reading chapters to understand their actual context. This adds to the Biblical illiteracy. Our attention span is too limited, as well as our desire for intelligence. We only want what will make up happy in the short run. I include myself in that, despite actions to correct it.

    To quote Harold Senkbeil:

    …our English language has kind of sidetracked us from the biblical language regarding that whole word, worship, itself, which in old English means “worth”ship. And the idea fits very well with the modern mentality that things have a value if I give them value. So the idea is that I gather then with all my fellow believers and we’re going together give God some worth by our prayers and praises. The biblical word is “service” in which God “serves” us through his holy word and sacraments. And he does something there; he dispenses the reality of the forgiveness of sins.

    I agree with Michael Horton when he says, “What once was correctly labeled a worship ‘service’ has been transformed into a deeply moving, memorable, and meaningful worship ‘experience.'” Technology itself isn’t what enables or hinders us in receiving God’s gifts (the only basis for a relationship with God), but style isn’t neutral. It may help in the accessibility of scripture, but I don’t count that as a relationship, but rather a book that describes the relationship between God and man. The relationship I have with God comes from my being a sinner and atonement Jesus made on the cross. In that respect, the only thing technology does provide more people with the knowledge of this story or waters down and distorts the story.

  2. Raymond Says:

    Really wishing I would’ve proofread that before posting. Sigh.


  3. […] November 23, 2009 Collide Magazine just posted an article about Technolgy and the church that really reflects what I was trying to express in my previous blog post. […]


Leave a Reply

