Bible Glo

October 21, 2009

Yesterday  I got a copy of a new bible software called Glo. You can check it out at  bibleglo.com.

The reason I rushed out of my office and drove 30 minutes to immediately buy this software was because of it’s amazing user interface. The way the Bible is laid out visual seemed very compelling to me. The Youtube video at the end of this post will show you what I mean. The layout is amazing, with the Word, theological topics, time lines, graphics, and videos all linked together to make study easier. From what I saw in the video, I was certain that I would be amazed by the software.

There are a few things that I did not like about it, however. Installation was a NIGHTMARE. The autolaunch installer did not work, and I got an error message the first 7 times I tried to install it. I had to explore the files on the DVD and try .exe after .exe until one of them would let me install it. The rest of the process was acceptable, taking just around 2 hours to install. Considering it is 18gb of content, that’s an acceptable amount of time. Once installed though, it puts one link to the program on the desktop, and nothing in the start menu. This is highly annoying since I don’t use the desktop, and prefer programs in the start menu. After launching the program, I experienced the amazing user interface, but even on a machine with pretty decent specs (I do AfterEffects production on this machine), it was slow and glitchy. This software would best be run on a BRAND new computer with more than the hardware requirements listed on the box.

While it may have not been a great experience at first, I think that there is a lot of potential with this software. Once the reading plan is implemented (which, by the way, was promised in the video) is added to the software in November, it will be that much more useful. I think that this could be a good tool for bible study, and I am anticipating the Mac version next year.

[11-16-2009 Update]: I have to admit, with all of the excitement that I had about the release of this software, I have yet to use it since the first day after installing it. I think it may be for some people, but it just didn’t excite me past the first few moments.

6 Responses to “Bible Glo”

  1. Raymond McPherson Says:

    It could be because I’m using Linux, but the Youtube video wouldn’t even work well for me (on here or on Youtube). I didn’t get to see much. Is this just a beta?

  2. jphillips86 Says:

    Works fine for me on Mac. Probably just one of those random Youtube videos that doesn’t work well on Linux.

  3. Bill Triplet Says:

    Wish it was using the ESV instead of the NIV.

  4. CJ Says:

    I bought Glo last week and have tried four times to install it with no success. I’ve sent tech support an email and they haven’t kept to their 48 hour turn around. I’m considering taking it back if they haven’t replied by Firday. It’s sadI may never get to use this software because of a crap installer.

  5. AT Says:

    I have been waiting patiently for the readin plan which again was promised with the initial release. Then recieved a software update that said it would not be released until Nov 2009. So it is Dec 5th and still no reading plan. I did email the Customer Service dept when the Reading Plan would be released and I got a one line response 24 hours later “We do not have a set date when the Reading Plan will be available” I know things come up but do not make promises if you cannot keep them. I am very disappointed with the customer service. The software works fine and I will continue to use it.

  6. Joyce Riney Says:

    After opening the atlas, the picture and text fill up the screen that if there is a “back arrow” or other way to exit, it cannot be seen. There is not a way to exit other than cont-alt-delete.


Leave a Reply

